ihra50 ihra-sportsman-2020-btn ihra-sss-btn ihra-team-finals-btn2 drag-review
navbar bottom

Over 7,000 IHRA Competitors Will Challenge For The 2016 Summit SuperSeries National Championship

Wednesday, 16 March 2016

The 2016 edition of the International Hot Rod Association (IHRA) $200,000 Summit SuperSeries National Championship is off and running at many of the Southern based IHRA member tracks. This season will feature familiar names supporting the series but a brand new format that has competitors and tracks buzzing with anticipation.

As in year’s past, every IHRA participating track will crown a Summit SuperSeries track champion.  The big difference in 2016, as compared to previous years, is that each champion will no longer run-off at their Summit Team Finals event but rather be invited directly to the Summit World Finals in Memphis.  This will be the single largest gathering of championship contenders the sport of drag racing has ever seen competing head-to-head for the IHRA Summit Super Series National Championship.

“We’ve received a lot of positive feedback from competitors and IHRA member tracks on this new format and we are looking forward to seeing the largest championship race in history unfold during the Summit World Finals in Memphis” said Summit Racing Motorsports & Events Manager Jim Greenleaf.  “At the end of the day, we recognize it is a big trip to Memphis for a lot of competitors.  We have been hosting competitors from Alaska, Western Canada, Aruba and Newfoundland over the course of this program, so we think that taking a shot at the biggest sportsman National Championship in the country is worth the trip”.   

Competitors in the Summit World Finals have an opportunity to win over $100,000 in prizes.  The championship cash payout in Top and Mod will be $10,000 to win, $7,000 runner-up, $2,000 semis, $1,000 quarters and $500 eighths.  Junior Dragster championship payout is $3,000 to win, $2,000 runner-up, $1,000 semis, $500 quarters and $250 eighths.  All Summit SuperSeries track champions will receive free car & driver entry upon qualifying and passing tech for this event.


(L to R) 2015 National Champions (Top) Jeff Parrish, (Mod) Cory Heckenlible, (Jr) Kenneth Hillin

To get in on the action, competitors simply sign up for their IHRA Member Track points program while becoming a member of IHRA or simply renewing their IHRA membership.  Competitors are then issued an “X” number (the second digit of the Summit SuperSeries registered numbers is an X) and that number must appear on your car during your track’s points earning events as well as on your track’s points listing on their website.  For a listing of IHRA member tracks click here: http://www.ihra.com/ihra-tracks/tracks and for a full series flyer and complete rules on the Summit SuperSeries click here:  http://www.ihra.com/superseries-home.

The Summit World Finals will be held October 21-23 at Memphis International Raceway. For additional information please visit www.IHRA.com.

Last modified on Wednesday, 16 March 2016
IHRA socialMedia facebook IHRA socialMedia twitter IHRA socialMedia youtube
  Instagram App   

IHRA calendarheader

Summit Team Finals | Midwest
Eddyville Raceway Park
Thursday, September 9th - Sunday, September 12th
Summit Team Finals | Division 3 (North Stars)
Dragway 42
Wednesday, September 15th - Sunday, September 19th
Summit Team Finals | Division 1 (Patriots)
Maryland International Raceway
Thursday, September 23rd - Sunday, September 26th
Summit Team Finals | Division 4 (Renegades)
Xtreme Raceway Park
Thursday, September 23rd - Sunday, September 26th
Summit Team Finals | Division 5 (Thunder)
US 131 Motorsports Park
Thursday, September 23rd - Sunday, September 26th